

STATE OF MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF EDUCATION LANSING

MICHAEL F. RICE, Ph.D. STATE SUPERINTENDENT

GRETCHEN WHITMER GOVERNOR

MEMORANDUM

DATE: September 5, 2024

TO: Local and Intermediate School District Superintendents Public School Academy Directors Institutions of Higher Education

FROM: Dr. Diane Golzynski, Deputy Superintendent Division of Business, Health, and Library Services

SUBJECT: Section 31ff/Student Mental Health Apprenticeship Retention and Training (SMART) Program

The Michigan Department of Education (MDE) announces that <u>Student Mental Health</u> and <u>Retention Training (SMART) Program</u> funds through Section 31ff (<u>MCL</u> <u>388.1631ff</u>) are still available. SMART provides stipends for first- and second-year school psychology, school social work, and school counseling graduate students interning in intermediate school districts (ISDs) and local education agencies (LEAs), both traditional public school districts and public school academies (PSAs).

The application for Section 31ff funds is open in <u>NexSys</u> and can be found under "My Opportunities" on the NexSys Dashboard. The application closes at **11:45 p.m. EST on September 30, 2025**, or sooner if all funds have been exhausted. The application is available to ISDs, traditional public school districts, PSAs, and institutions of higher education. To be eligible for this funding, applicants must meet at least one of the criteria below:

- 1. Students must intern in a public school in which not less than 50% of pupils enrolled are eligible for free or reduced-price meals or considered economically disadvantaged in the Michigan School Data System.
- Students must intern in a public school that received funding under Section 22d (<u>MCL 388.1622d</u>) of the State School Aid Act in the immediately preceding school fiscal year.

For questions about 31ff, please contact Karley Roy at <u>RoyK8@Michigan.gov</u>.

cc: Michigan Education Alliance Confederation of Michigan Tribal Education Departments

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

PAMELA PUGH – PRESIDENT • ELLEN COGEN LIPTON / TIFFANY D. TILLEY – CO-VICE PRESIDENTS JUDITH PRITCHETT – SECRETARY • MARSHALL BULLOCK II – TREASURER MITCHELL ROBINSON – NASBE DELEGATE • TOM MCMILLIN • NIKKI SNYDER